## MCE BOARD MEETING MINUTES Thursday, February 16, 2023 7:00 P.M.

This Meeting was conducted pursuant to the requirements of <u>Assembly Bill No. 361</u> (September 16, 2021) which allows a public agency to use teleconferencing during a Governor-proclaimed state of emergency without meeting usual <u>Ralph M. Brown Act</u> teleconference requirements. Committee Members, staff and members of the public were able to participate in the Committee Meeting via teleconference.

**Present:** Kari Birdseye, City of Benicia

Edi Birsan, City of Concord

Eli Beckman, Town of Corte Madera

Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax

Cindy Darling, City of Walnut Creek

Gina Dawson, City of Lafayette David Fong, Town of Danville

Joelle Gallagher, Alternate, County of Napa and All Four Napa Cities

John Gioia, Conta Costa County

Maika Llorens Gulati, City of San Rafael

Kevin Haroff, City of Larkspur

Kerry Hillis, Town of Moraga

Janelle Kellman, City of Sausalito

C. Williams Kircher, Town of Ross

Tarrell Kullaway, Alternate, Town of San Anselmo

Eduardo Martinez, City of Richmond

Aaron Meadows, City of Oakley

Devin Murphy, City of Pinole

Beth Painter, City of Napa

Charles Palmares, City of Vallejo

Scott Perkins, City of San Ramon

Max Perrey, City of Mill Valley

Patricia Ponce, City of San Pablo

Gabriel Quinto, City of El Cerrito

Katie Rice, County of Marin

Shanelle Scales-Preston, City of Pittsburg

Holli Thier, Town of Tiburon

John Vasquez, County of Solano

Sally Wilkinson, City of Belvedere

K. Patrice Williams, City of Fairfield

Brianne Zorn, City of Martinez

**Absent:** Mark Milberg, Alternate, City of Novato

Matt Rinn, City of Pleasant Hill

Staff

**& Others:** Jesica Brooks, Board Clerk

Stephanie Chen, Director of Legislative Affairs

Sebastian Conn, Senior Community Development Manager

Darlene Jackson, Lead Board Clerk

Vicken Kasarjian, COO

Tanya Lomas, Internal Operations Assistant Catalina Murphy, Associate General Counsel Enyonam Senyo-Mensah, Office Manager

Sabrinna Soldavini, Policy Analyst II

Jamie Tuckey, Chief of Staff

Dawn Weisz, CEO

#### 1. Roll Call

Chair Scales-Preston called the regular meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

#### 2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

There were no comments.

## 3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

#### 4. **Board Introductions (Discussion)**

Dawn Weisz, CEO, introduced this item and there were introductions from new Board members.

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

## 5. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

Dawn Weisz, CEO, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

## 6. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 12.15.22 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Approved Contract for Energy Update

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Perkins/Thier) to approve Consent Calendar items C.1 and C.2. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Milberg, Rinn and Wilkinson).

## 7. 2022 Charles F. McGlashan Advocacy Award Presentation (Discussion)

Sebastian Conn, Senior Community Development Manager, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

#### 8. 2022 MCE Climate Action Leadership Award Presentation (Discussion)

Stephanie Chen, Director of Legislative Affairs, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

## 9. <u>Election of Vice Chair and Addition of Board Members to Committees</u> (<u>Discussion/Action</u>)

Dawn Weisz, CEO, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action 1: A vote was conducted for the two nominees for MCE Vice Chair and the tally was reported as: 15 for Director Coler and 19 for Director Quinto. (Absent: Directors Milberg, Rinn, Vasquez).

Action 2: It was M/S/C (Coler/Gulati) to approve addition of Board Members to Committees. Director Martinez to the Executive Committee, Directors Martinez and Palmares to the Technical Committee, Directors Martinez and Thier to Ad Hoc Virtual Power Plant Committee. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote. (Absent: Directors Kircher, Milberg, Rinn, Vasquez, and Wilkinson).

# 10. <u>In-Person Meetings and Teleconferencing Options Under the Brown Act and AB 2449</u> (<u>Discussion/Action</u>)

Catalina Murphy, Associate General Counsel, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Perkins/Birsan) to approve Board and Committee meetings to be held in person beginning March 1, 2023, subject to the Default Teleconferencing Rules of the Brown Act, when a state-proclaimed State of Emergency is not in place. (Absent: Directors Kircher, Rinn, Vasquez, and Wilkinson).

## 11. Policy Update (Discussion)

Stephanie Chen, Director of Legislative Affairs, and Sabrinna Soldavini, Policy Analyst II, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

#### 12. Form 700 – Statements of Economic Interest (Discussion)

Catalina Murphy, Associate General Counsel, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Chair Scales-Preston opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

#### 11. Board Matters & Staff Matters (Discussion)

There were none.

## 12. Adjournment

Chair Scales-Preston adjourned the meeting at 9:58 p.m. to the next scheduled Board Meeting on March 16, 2023.

Should Prute

Shanelle Scales-Preston, Chair

Attest:

—Docusigned by:

Dawn Weisg

Dawn Weisz, Secretary