MCE BOARD MEETING MINUTES Thursday, March 20, 2025 6:30 P.M.

Present:

Liz Alessio, The County of Napa and Four Napa Cities/Town (American Canyon, Calistoga, St. Helena, and Yountville)

Stephanie Andre, City of Larkspur Mark Belotz, Town of Danville Monica Brown, County of Solano Barbara Coler, Town of Fairfax Cindy Darling, City of Walnut Creek

Gina Dawson, City of Lafayette Kevin Jacobs, City of Novato Arlene Kobata, City of Pittsburg

Tarrell Kullaway, Town of San Anselmo Maika Llorens Gulati, City of San Rafael Trevor Macenski, Alternate, City of Benicia

Aaron Meadows, City of Oakley Devin Murphy, City of Pinole Laura Nakamura, City of Concord Both Painter, City of Napa

Beth Painter, City of Napa

Elizabeth Pabon-Alvarado, City of San Pablo

Charles Palmares, City of Vallejo Max Perrey, City of Mill Valley Gabriel Quinto, City of El Cerrito Mary Sackett, County of Marin Mathew Salter, Town of Ross Manveer Sandhu, City of Fairfield

Holli Thier, Town of Tiburon

Sridhar Verose, City of San Ramon

Alexander Walker-Griffin, Alternate, City of Hercules

Sally Wilkinson, City of Belvedere

Steve Woehleke, Alternate, Town of Moraga

Cesar Zepeda, City of Richmond, joined at 6:40 p.m.

Absent:

Eli Beckman, Town of Corte Madera Melissa Blaustein, City of Sausalito

Shanelle Scales-Preston, County of Contra Costa, Chair

Amanda Szakats, City of Pleasant Hill

Brianne Zorn, City of Martinez

Staff & Others:

Jared Blanton, Vice President of Public Affairs

Jesica Brooks, Lead Board Clerk and Executive Assistant

Vidhi Chawla, Vice President of Power Resources

Shuvo Chowdhury, Vice President of Technology & Analytics

Stephanie Chen, Director of Legislative Affairs

Alice Havenar-Daughton, Vice President of Customer Programs

Vicken Kasarjian, Chief Operating Officer

Shaheen Khan, Vice President of Human Resources, Diversity, and

Inclusion

Caroline Lavenue, Legal Counsel II

Tanya Lomas, Board Clerk Associate

Alexandra McGee, Vice President of Strategic Initiatives

Lindsay Meehan, Director of Human Resources

Catalina Murphy, General Counsel

Ashley Muth, Internal Operations Coordinator

Efren Oxlaj, Finance Manager

Justine Parmelee, Vice President of Internal Operations

Zae Perrin, Vice President of Customer Operations

Mike Rodriguez-Vargas, Internal Operations Assistant

Enyonam Senyo-Mensah, Internal Operations Manager

Daniel Settlemyer, Internal Operations Associate

Sabrinna Soldavini, Director of Policy

Maíra Strauss, Vice President of Finance and Treasurer

Lisa Strong, Internal Operations Intern

Greg Tillman, Associate Director of Rates

Jamie Tuckey, Chief Customer Officer

Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer

1. Roll Call

Acting Chair Quinto called the regular meeting to order at 6:33 p.m. with quorum established by roll call.

2. Board Announcements (Discussion)

Acting Chair Quinto opened the floor for board announcements and there were no comments.

3. Public Open Time (Discussion)

Acting Chair Quinto opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

4. Report from Chief Executive Officer (Discussion)

CEO Weisz introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

5. Consent Calendar (Discussion/Action)

- C.1 Approval of 2.20.25 Meeting Minutes
- C.2 Approved Contracts for Energy Update
- C.3. Addition of Board Members to Committees

Acting Chair Quinto opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Thier/Perrey) to approve Consent Calendar Items C.1, C.2, and C.3. Motion carried by roll call vote. (Abstain: Woehleke; Absent: Beckman, Blaustein, Scales-Preston, Szakats and Zorn). Director Nakamura left after voting on this item.

6. Proposed Fiscal Year 2025/26 Budget (Discussion/Action)

- a. <u>Proposed Adjustment to MCE Demand Charges effective April 1, 2025 (Discussion/Action)</u>
- b. MCE Investment in Transmission Software Solutions (Discussion/Action)

Maíra Strauss, Vice President of Finance and Treasurer, introduced this item and several MCE staff, and John Dalessi, PEA, addressed questions from Board members.

Acting Chair Quinto opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: It was M/S/C (Coler/Thier) to approve the proposed Fiscal Year 2025/26 Budget, which includes approval for the following subcomponents of the budgets:

- 1. the proposed adjustment to MCE Demand Charges to be effective April 1, 2025,
- 2. continuing the MCE Cares Credit with an allocation of \$5,000,000,
- 3. withdrawing up to \$13,000,000 from the Operating Reserve Fund to offset unexpected regulatory costs, and
- 4. transferring \$10,250,000 from MCE Reserves for MCE Investment in Transmission Software Solutions and authorizing staff to execute the necessary contracts to implement these solutions up to the amount transferred from MCE Reserves.

Motion carried by roll call vote. Yays-27; Nos-4; Abstain-1 (Nos: Andre, Pabon-Alvarado, Salter, Wilkinson; Abstain: Woehleke; Absent: Beckman, Blaustein, Nakamura, Scales-Preston, Szakats and Zorn).

7. Legislative Update (Discussion)

Stephanie Chen, Director of Legislative Affairs, introduced this item and addressed questions from Board members.

Acting Chair Quinto opened the public comment period and there were no comments.

Action: No action required.

8. Board & Staff Matters (Discussion)

There were comments made by Directors Murphy and Salter.

9. Adjournment

Acting Chair Quinto adjourned the meeting at 10:14 p.m. to the next scheduled Board Meeting on April 17, 2025.

Gabriel Quinto, Acting Chair

Attest:

DocuSigned by:

Vicken Kasarjian, Secretary

Vicken Kasayiran