峰值发电厂如何影响加州社区

峰值发电厂如何影响加州社区

2022 年 5 月 8 日,加州有史以来首次有 100% 的电力供应由可再生能源生产。这一激动人心的里程碑展示了加州在可再生能源应用方面的进步,并凸显了完全清洁电网的可行性。然而,在我们能够全天候使用 100% 可再生能源之前,必须取得重大进展。 

在电力需求旺盛时,加州仍然依赖化石燃料驱动的“峰值电厂”发电。峰值电厂是天然气发电厂,在可再生能源供应不足时使用化石燃料发电。这些电厂的效率通常低于其他类型的发电厂,并且会产生温室气体排放和空气污染。由于这些电厂对健康和环境有害,因此只有当加州的电力需求过高而无法通过其他可用能源满足时,才会启动这些电厂。

峰值电厂排放有毒空气污染物,并可能导致严重的健康和环境问题。但改变我们使用电力的方式可以帮助减少甚至消除对这些污染发电厂的需求,并为每个人提供更健康的社区。

 

加州的调峰发电厂位于哪里?

有近 80 个化石燃料发电的调峰电厂 在加利福尼亚。 这些调峰电厂中有一半 位于弱势社区。根据 CalEnviroScreen 脆弱性评估,加州弱势社区是指在承担社会经济、环境和健康负担的社区中得分最高的 25% 社区。

峰值发电厂如何影响周围社区?

当加州的调峰电厂启动时,它们会燃烧化石燃料,这会向大气中排放温室气体,并对邻近社区造成有害的空气污染。

除了导致气候变化并对当地社区造成一系列不利的环境影响外,化石燃料污染还增加了 严重的健康问题 包括心脏和肺部疾病、癌症和过早死亡。

加州调峰发电厂位置
(来源: PSE 健康能量)

 

我们可以做什么?

加州已制定了多项目标,旨在创造更多可再生能源供应和能源储存,帮助逐步淘汰污染严重的峰值发电厂。虽然这些努力有助于我们规划更美好的未来,但重要的是现在就采取措施,为所有人创造一个更清洁、更健康的加州。

如果您是电力用户,您可以通过减少用电高峰时段(即下午 4 点至晚上 9 点)的电力需求来减少加州对峰值电厂的依赖,因为高峰时段用电量最高。当您在这些时段使用较少的能源时,您不仅可以降低成本,还可以降低加州启动污染性化石燃料发电厂的可能性。

 

和您的许多邻居一起加入我们,在高峰时段减少能源使用。您的小小举动可以为整个加州的社区带来巨大改变。访问 mce4-9.org 请参阅我们的提示和技巧列表,了解如何将您的能源使用时间从 4 点转移到 9 点之外。

选择 MCE Deep Green

选择加入 MCE 浅绿色

能源供应项目开发

填写下面的兴趣表格即可开始!

填写以下表格以表达对我们的电动汽车即时折扣的兴趣或对电动汽车或电动汽车激励措施有任何疑问。您将在 2 个工作日内收到我们 Energy Solutions 合作伙伴的回复。

营销、社区拓展、创意和活动制作

能源效率、电动汽车和负荷转移计划的实施和评估

非能源相关服务和建筑

与专门的能量教练联系

技术、财务和人力资源

How Peaker Plants Impact California Communities

How Peaker Plants Impact California Communities

For the first time ever, on May 8, 2022, 100% of California’s electricity supply was produced by renewable energy. This exciting milestone demonstrates California’s advancements in renewable energy adoption and highlights the viability of a completely clean electric grid. However, significant progress must be made before we are able to use 100% renewable energy on a 24/7 basis. 

California still relies on fossil fuel powered “peaker plants” to generate electricity during times of high demand. Peaker plants are natural gas generation plants that use fossil fuels to produce power when renewables are less available. These plants are often less efficient than other types of power generation and create both greenhouse gas emissions and air pollution. Because of the harmful health and environmental impacts of these plants, they are only powered up when California’s electricity demand is too high to be met by other available sources.

Peaker plants spew toxic air pollution and can cause significant health and environmental issues. But changing the way we use power can help reduce, and even eliminate, the need for these polluting power plants and support healthier communities for everyone.

 

Where are California’s Peaker Plants Located?

There are nearly 80 fossil-fuel powered peaker plants in California. Half of these peaker plants are located in disadvantaged communities. California’s disadvantaged communities are identified as communities scoring in the top 25% of those shouldering socioeconomic, environmental, and health burdens according to the CalEnviroScreen vulnerability assessment.

How Do Peaker Plants Affect the Surrounding Community?

When California’s peaker plants power up, they burn fossil fuels, which adds greenhouse gasses to the atmosphere and creates hazardous air pollution in neighboring communities.

In addition to contributing to climate change and causing a number of adverse environmental effects on the local community, fossil fuel pollution also increases the likelihood of serious health issues including heart and lung diseases, cancers, and premature death.

Location of California’s Peaker Plants
(Source: PSE Healthy Energy)

 

What Can We Do?

California has set a number of goals to create additional renewable energy supply and energy storage to help phase out polluting peaker plants. While these efforts help us plan for a better future, it’s important to take steps now to create a cleaner and healthier California for all.

If you are an electricity user, you can reduce California’s reliance on peaker plants by helping to reduce electricity demand during the “peak hours” of 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. when electricity use is at its highest. When you use less energy during these times, you not only benefit from lower costs, but also reduce the likelihood that California will turn on its polluting, fossil fuel powered plants.

 

Join us — along with many of your neighbors — and use less energy during peak hours. Your small actions can make a big difference to communities across California. Visit mce4-9.org for our list of tips and tricks to shift your energy use outside of 4 to 9.

Opt Up to MCE Deep Green

Opt In to MCE Light Green

Energy supply project development

Fill out the interest form below to get started!

Complete the form below to express interest in our EV Instant Rebate or for any questions related to EVs or EV incentives. You’ll hear back from our partners at Energy Solutions within 2 business days.

Marketing, community outreach, creative, and event production

Energy efficiency, EV, and load shifting program implementation and evaluation

Non-energy related services and construction

Connect with a dedicated energy coach

Technology, finance, and human resources